International CPTED Association

ICA WEBINAR: CPTED ON THE STREETS

  • 23 Oct 2020
  • 06:30 - 08:00
  • Online (Live stream)

Registration


Register

Disclaimer: “The views expressed in this webinar belong to our guest speakers and do not necessarily reflect the position of the ICA.”


FREE FOR ICA MEMBERS!



ICA WEBINAR:

CPTED ON THE STREETS

23 October 2020

12:30 GMT

06:30 MST (e.g. Calgary) 

07:30 CDT (e.g. Mexico City)

08:30 EDT (e.g. New York)

14:30 CEST (e.g. Amsterdam)

18:00 IST (e.g. New Delhi)

23:30 AEDT (e.g. Sydney)

01:30 (+1) NZST (e.g. Auckland)


The International CPTED Association proudly presents its latest Global Webinar on the ever-relevant topic of CPTED response to Street Crimes and other issues.

As the world opens up and recovers from the global pandemic, there is a sharp focus on the crime situations in the aftermath. Streets at every level are the first victims of upswing in crimes and also the first CPTED respondents. Streets are mostly public and yet bear a pivotal relationship with security. The importance of focusing on this relationship has been in the context of the pandemic amplified even further.

In our next offering of our series of thought provoking and knowledge based webinars, we have invited speakers from diverse regions and backgrounds to talk of their specialized experience and theories relating to CPTED action on the streets. The moderator will further bring along specific topics to enhance the knowledge and applications for even more diverse regions to make this debate widely relevant.

Following on the heels of a series of Regional Webinars, this event focusses on the issues and applications for its global audiences new and old. The discussion promises to be practical and enriching, a must for any CPTED enthusiast.


Topics will include:

  • General concepts of CPTED on the street.
  • Specific examples relating to public transport, especially London.
  • Case studies and examples from the UK and other parts of the world.
  • Protective security role of CPTED as related to the London underground in the face of terrorism.
  • Design of streets and use of CPTED in relation to crime, terrorism and COVID-19.
  • Street related issues of developing countries and the disadvantaged sections of the society.
  • Street-level safety issues and the role of CPTED.
  • Women’s security issues and the role of CPTED in their alleviation.
  • CPTED in transport and public spaces.


Our guest speakers will also be answering your questions. If you have any topic-related questions for our guest speakers, please enter them in the relevant section during registration. Alternatively, you can also email questions to us or pose them in the comment box during the live webinar session.

The webinar will be presented in English. 


Please share this with anyone who you think might benefit from learning more on this topic.


We look forward to connecting with you!


Who should attend: CPTED professionals, safety and crime prevention specialists, public officials, safety & security consultants, public transport planners, managers and staff, police officers, academics, students, researchers, architects, planners, criminologists, sociologists, social engineers, decision-makers, and others.


Webinar rates are displayed in Canadian Dollars and paid using our online payment system.


Panelists: 

JOHN STRUTTON

United Kingdom

20 years in Housing, Administrative to Service Head level, Community Safety and London Underground to form the first Crime & Disorder Unit and qualification as a Crime Prevention Officer and Designing Out Crime Officer, John led a team responsible for crime reduction/prevention and operational security across transport modes and the London Road Network. John currently serves as a Trustee Director at the Institute of Community Safety since 2015 with a specialization in Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED). John is currently a company director in crime prevention/community safety consultancy/training company.


ROBERT STEPHENS

Canada

Robert, an architect and urban designer by profession has many decades of experience in urban policy formulation and developments in Canada. Two decades of CPTED related projects in Latin America and many papers presented in conferences across the world make him one of the most respected and reputed think tanks in the field. He has also completed several stints as CPTED instructor to World Bank, Toronto Police College and consultancies to Toronto Police Service and the City of Toronto. Currently, he continues serving Toronto as the head of Publica Design Consultants Ltd.


Dr. MANJARI KHANNA KAPOOR – ICA Director, India

India - Asia Region

Manjari is the Founder-President of the Association for Building Security India (ABSI), a society to further the reach and knowledge about CPTED and other aspects of ‘security by design’. As a professional architect and academician, she advocates these concepts through her work and publications within the cultural context of India. She is also the author and chairperson of the SEQURE standards for security design.


ICA Mission Statement:

To create safer environments and improve the quality of life through the use of CPTED principles and strategies
  • Home
  • ICA WEBINAR: CPTED ON THE STREETS
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software