International CPTED Association

ICA WEBINAR: CPTED - STREET CRIME AND ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR

  • 21 Nov 2020
  • 10:00 - 11:30 (UTC+08:00)
  • Online (Live stream)

Registration


Register

Disclaimer: “The views expressed in this webinar belong to our guest speakers and do not necessarily reflect the position of the ICA.”

FREE!


ICA WEBINAR:

CPTED - STREET CRIME AND ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR

(Regional ICA webinar organised by our ICA Asia Region in collaboration with the Professional Criminologists Association of the Philippines)


21 November 2020

10:00 PHST (Philippines)

19:00 MST (-1) (e.g. Calgary) 

20:00 CST (e.g. Mexico City)

21:00 EST (-1) (e.g. New York)

03:00 CET (e.g. Amsterdam)

07:30 IST (e.g. New Delhi)

13:00 AEDT (e.g. Sydney)

15:00 NZDT (e.g. Auckland)


The International CPTED Association (ICA) proudly presents its latest Regional Webinar on how Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED) can be applied to reduce the risk and incidence of street crimes and anti-social behaviour.


This webinar builds on a series of webinars hosted by the ICA and offers the opportunity to engage with a panel of speakers from Malaysia, Australia and the Philippines.


The discussion promises to be practical and enriching and is a must for any CPTED enthusiast.


Topics will include:

  • The importance of understanding the local context and how space is used as part of community safety and crime prevention decision making.
  • Using a problem-solving approach as an integral part of community safety and crime prevention planning.
  • An introduction to CPTED and how proper design and effective use of the built environment contributes to reducing the risk and incidence of street crime and anti-social behaviour.
  • Contemporary examples of the use of CPTED in Asia, Australia and other parts of the world.


Our panel will also be answering your questions. If you have any topic-related questions for the panel, please enter them in the relevant section during registration. Alternatively, you can also email questions to us or pose them in the comment box during the live webinar session.


The webinar will be presented in English. 


Please share this with anyone who you think might benefit from learning more on this topic.


We look forward to connecting with you!


Who should attend: CPTED professionals, safety and crime prevention specialists, public officials, safety and security consultants, police officers, academics, students, researchers, architects, planners, criminologists, sociologists, social engineers, decision-makers, and others.


Panelists: 

Shamir Rajadurai, ICA Director

Malaysia, ICA Asia Region

Shamir Rajadurai has a Masters of Criminal Justice from University Malaya (UM) and is also a Certified CPTED Practitioner from Florida Atlantic University (FAU) and ICCP Certified Practitioner at the International CPTED Association. Shamir works at the grassroots of crime which gives him a great understanding of crime and offers him opportunities to assist with CPTED efforts. Shamir is one of the panel Judges for the Star Property Award 2017 and 2018, he is the Co-Producer of the crime prevention online mini-series “kuasa wanita di sini” & “Crime, Crooks & Criminology” which has Millions of views. He is an International Speaker and consultant on CPTED in Malaysia, Thailand and Philippines and other Southeast Asian countries. Shamir has also been featured in various TV and Radio talk shows, Newspapers and magazines both locally and internationally.

He has experience working on CPTED and crime prevention strategies and designs with property developers, municipal councils, town planners, architects, engineering firms, Police, Customs and individual home owners.

Email: shamir.rajadurai@cpted.net


John Goldsworthy, ICA Director

Australia, ICA Australasia/South Pacific Region

John is a Director & Board Member of the International CPTED Association from Australia and a Crime Prevention Committee Member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police.

After a highly decorated career of over 40 years in the Queensland Police Service (QPS), Australia, including over 10 years in the Crime Prevention Unit and 9 years as a Detective, he has a passion for and extensive real-world experience in all aspects of Crime Prevention and Community Safety.

John's policing experience also includes first response policing, criminal investigation, internal investigation, close personal protection, counter-terrorism and intelligence operations, major event security planning and air and maritime operations

With involvement spanning 25 years, John was one of the pioneers of CPTED in Australia introducing the concept to Government, Community and Industry bodies.

John now designs and facilitates Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED) workshops and presentations and provides policy advice to support the community safety activities and professional development of Government, Urban Design, Planning and allied professionals in the Asia-Pacific region.

Email: john.goldsworthy@cpted.net

 

Prof Dr. Gerry J. Caño - President, Professional Criminologist Association of the Philippines Inc. (PCAP)

Philippines

Prof Dr. Gerry J. Caño is the Dean at the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice PHINMA Cagayan de Oro College. He is also the President of the Professional criminologist association of The Philippines (PCAP), PCAP, being the accredited and professional organization for licensed criminologist in the Philippines, it coordinates with the professional regulation commission and the Philippine Board of Criminology in helping promote the Criminology profession.

Email: gerryjcano@yahoo.com


ICA Mission Statement:

To create safer environments and improve the quality of life through the use of CPTED principles and strategies
  • Home
  • ICA WEBINAR: CPTED - STREET CRIME AND ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software